top of page

Dreams, Wishes and New worlds.

Impressions of Australia till now. Australia is big, really big. I went from Sydney towards Cairns it took me a 3 hour flight. It's like flying from the Netherlands To Iceland more or less. And a lot is the same, like a lot of rainforest, beaches all over the coastline and road with kilometers of the same trees.

Mountains with blue, I wanted to go to the blue mountains but not alone, so I got in contact with three Dutch people on facebook that made this trip fantastic. I even got to learn a new way of editing my pictures that gives them my own and personal style. I'm really a mountain person so I could do nothing else but enjoy this trip, I even stayed at YHA (Youth Hostels Australia) Blue mountains for two nights.

Dreams; I had a dream, not really actually but I went snorkeling and kayaking with a spanish friend called Carlos at Fitzroy island. Fitzroy island has beaches that look quite white because they are of sand and broken coral. After we arrived we went towards another spot with the kayak and here we went snorkeling. It was the first time for me to see coral in the wild. I had also never seen this much colorful fish in the wild in my life. But in the end me and Carlos wanted to see a sea turtle. Luckily we saw one swimming while we headed back to the main beach.

Wishes; I had a wish too see starlight not the limited like in the Netherland but the ones you can see in very dark places. I heard this was possible in a place called Cape Tribulation. This is a place where the Rainforest meets the sea. To get here I did a tour that had some small detours to see crocodiles in the wild, eat daintree rainforest icecream and an aboriginal ceremony. During the ceremony we got smoked to get rid of "bad spirits". Because of this tour I met a lot of new amazing and fun people from Germany, Switzerland, Netherlands and England.

Most of use stayed at YHA (Youth Hostels Australia) Cape Tribulation. This was near the beach but still in the middle of the rainforest where you could hear the sounds of crickets, frogs and other animals that lived there. It was like a new world for me so many trees that you can't even see through. There is also alot of danger that can kill you like snakes, crocodiles and spiders even jellyfish during the summer times when the sea water gets to 33 degrees.

They told me during the night it got so dark here that I could see the milkyway and this has been a long time wish of mine. It really gives the impression of how small we really are in this universe. I also wanted to take a picture of the milkyway and I did!! I knew a picture would see even more then the human eye. This place was also so far from the inhabited world that there was no cellphone reception, this did give me a feeling of boredom as we are so used to always picking up our phones the moment we have too little impulses to the brain.

I never would have thought I could hate to say goodbye to people I have met. But when I find a spot like YHA Cairns central with people you can talk to and have fun with it gives a feeling of home, a place I actually don't want to leave, and each trip you meet people you bond with. But I also want to travel further and see more places.

New photos viewable at tab "New Photos" (Some still from blue mountains and a couple from daintree rainforest.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • thumb21
  • Flickr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page